SSU Foundation, Inc.

The Savannah State University Foundation, Inc. is a Georgia non-profit corporation with the purpose of receiving, investing and administering the private support of Savannah State University.

The mission of the Foundation is to support and enhance the University by encouraging charitable gifts from alumni and friends leading to academic programs of excellence. This Margin of Excellence allows the University to build upon a growing reputation of quality and value beyond the traditional resources provided by state appropriations or student tuition and fees.

The Foundation serves as the university's gift receiving office as the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia asks donors to make charitable gifts to the Foundation. For that reason, care should be taken to insure that all checks, deeds and negotiable instruments are made to the SSU Foundation. The Foundation will provide a gift receipt suitable for tax purposes acknowledging each gift.

A Board of Directors comprised of loyal alumni and friends administers and invests charitable gifts to maximize the gift's value to the University. The Foundation is tax exempt under provisions of section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Internal Revenue Service has further ruled that contributions to the Foundation are deductible by donors as provided in section 170 of the Code for federal income, gift and estate tax purposes. These provisions provide the most favorable tax advantages allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for charitable contributions.

SSU Foundation Board Members


Dr. William T. Simmons
Chairman, 2017 - 2023 Term
District Court Administrator - 6th Judicial Administrative District

Dr. Patricia Harris
Vice Chairwoman, 2021 - 2023 Term
President/CEO, Delta Solutions Health and Educational Services, Inc.

Cynthia Robinson Alexander, J.D.
Interim President, Savannah State University

John Kelley
Financial Secretary, Financial Investment & Audit Chair
Executive, Georgia Power Company (Retired)

Judge Barbara J. Mobley
Secretary, 2019 - 2023 Term
Retired Dekalb County State Court Judge

Hon. Emanuel Larkin Jr.
Treasurer, 2017 - 2023 Term
Magistrate Judge, Burke County Board of Commissioners

Michelle Adams
Membership Chair,
Licensed Funeral Director & Embalmer, Adams Funeral Home

Charles G. Young
Membership Chair,
Chairman, Grady Young Foundation, Inc.

Lt. Gen. Walter E. Gaskin, Ret.
Strategic Planning Committee Chair, 
Secretary, North Carolina Department of Military & Veteran Affairs
Lieutenant General, United States Marine Corps (Retired)

Capt. Bernard L. Jackson, Ret.
Military Support Committee Chair,
President/CEO, Leading Edge Solutions
Captain, United States Navy (Retired)

Bobby Lockett
Community/Government Committee Chair,
Commissioner - District 3, Chatham County Board of Commissioners

Barbara L. Mcghee
Booster Club President, 
Retired Educator

Glennera Martin
Special Events Committee Chair
Retired Educator

Harold Washington
SSUNAA President 
School Administrator, Dekalb County School System

Arthur J. Terry
Fundraising & Development Committee Chair
Retired, Pfizer, Inc.

Dr. Jimmie C. Jackson
Chairwomanman Emeritus, Term - Life
Retired School Administrator
Former President, American Federation of Teacher

LeAndrea Mikell
Interim Vice President for University Advancement

Henry Lee Perry
Business Manager, SSU Foundation


(Term denotes the year each term started)

LaTanga Allen-Felder
Director, Term - 2014
Senior Transportation Data Reporting Analyst, City of Atlanta

RDML Annie B Andrews USN (Ret.)
Director, Term - 2016
Assistant Administrator for Human Resource Management, Federal Aviation Administration
Retired Rear Admiral, United States Navy

Dr. Florene Boles
Director, Term - 2007
Retired Educator

Willis Black, Ed.D

William Daniel Jr.
Director, Term - 2020
Owner, Lassister Investments LLC
Vice President & General Counsel, Vaden Automotive Group

Eugene Felton Jr., Esq.
Director, Term - 2018
Partner, Seay & Felton Law Firm

Betty Ellington
Director, Term - 2018

Alex C. Habersham
Director, Term - 2020
Publisher, Macon Black Pages

Cyrus Jackson

Edna Branch Jackson
Director, Term - 2000
Georgia State Representative
Former Mayor, City of Savannah

Otis Johnson, Ph.D.
Director, Term - 2020
Former Mayor, City of Savannah

Michael A. Kaigler

James 'Slim' Melvin

Ronald McGee
Director, Term - 2020
Senior Manager Government Affairs, Comcast Cable

Carolyn Price
Director, Term - 2020
Retired, Norfolk Southern

Valerie L. Reynolds, MD

Julius Smith
Director, Term - 2000

Daniel Stevenson
Director, Term - 2014
Presiding Bishop, 6th District AME Church GA

Travis Stringer
Director, Term - 2019
President, Foram Group

Marilyn S. Taylor

Dr. Clemontine Washington
Director, Term - 2018
Former Mayor, City of Midway

Michael D. Williams

All Board Members serve until resignation and/or replacement.